The Glover Building was a physical education building constructed in1894. In 1891 Mrs. Sarah White Glover, at the age of 87, inherited the White family wealth. She would unfortunately pass away a year later. Prior to her death she had consulted with Judge French, President of the Board of Trustees, about how best to spend her money for educational purposes. French suggested that she donate to Thayer Academy as the school was in need of a gymnasium.
Classrooms & Laboratories
Glover obliged and willed the necessary funds to the school. Architects for the building were Hartwell and Richardson of Boston who described the building as a picturesque brick one. The building had a boys’ gymnasium on one side and a girls’ on the other side. The middle of the building housed chemistry laboratories. Equipment for the gyms were paid in part by Dr. Sargent of the Sargent School. The chemistry labs were run by Dr. Charles Pitkin. The gymnasiums were dedicated to Deborah P. White and Naaman L. White, Sarah’s siblings, and the laboratories were dedicated to Sarah’s late husband. The White Gymnasiums were converted into more science classrooms and laboratories following the construction of the Memorial Gymnasium.