Master Plan Steering Committee


The Town’s last Master Plan was completed in 1998. Since 1998, the Town has experienced growth in almost all sectors, including residential, commercial, institutional and non-profits, and it has become clear through a consensus of residents and elected officials that a new Master Plan is the necessary next step in providing a framework for land use and development vision for the Town’s future.

Mayor Kokoros pledged efforts for a new Master Plan and, on February 18, 2020, Mayor Kokoros requested that the Town Council appropriate funds in the amount of $200,000.00 to fund the creation of a Master Plan for the Town of Braintree. This request was approved by the Council on April 28, 2020.

Steering Committee

In order to support the process, and ensure that the Master Plan is representative of our community wide values and aspirations of all stakeholders (including the resident and business community), Mayor Kokoros has established a Steering Committee. The Committee will represent stakeholders from various geographic areas in our community and will include:

Business Owners

  • Peter C. Herbst, owner of Herbst Law Group, LLC 
  • Shelley North, owner of Glow Beauty Boutique
  • Kay Young, owner of Kay’s Cans and Bottles 

Planning Board Member 

  • Erin Joyce

Braintree Residents

  • Laurie Castignetti
  • David Cunningham 
  • Shaynah Barnes Munro 
  • Liz Page
  • Rayna Rubin

Town Councilors 

  • Councilor Julia Flaherty 
  • Councilor Steven Sciascia

Agendas & Minutes 

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.


The Committee shall meet at least at least twice a month for a maximum of two hours. Members are expected to attend (in person) and participate in all scheduled meetings. Any member who fails to attend three (3) scheduled meetings within a six (6) month period will be required to resign his/her seat on the Committee.

Meeting dates and agenda items shall be determined in advance and written notice of the meetings will be posted on the Town’s website. All meetings shall be audio recorded.

The Committee shall appoint a Chair and a Vice-Chair. The Chair shall be responsible for setting meeting agendas, facilitating meetings, and presenting a report of meetings as required by the Mayor’s Office. The Vice-Chair shall be responsible for collaborating and assisting in the duties and functions of the Chair and the duties of the Chair in the Chairperson’s absence.